艾丹-Dup15q 家庭故事

2022 年 8 月 16 日

我的妻子 Adrienne 和我于 1992 年结婚,并决定等着生孩子。 相反,我们专注于教育、职业和享受没有孩子带来的自由。 进行数天的徒步旅行/露营旅行,一时兴起去拉斯维加斯或无目的地开车。 我们结婚 14 年了,我们意识到如果我们想要孩子,是时候考虑一​​下了。

17 年 2006 月 4 日,我们漂亮的男孩 Aidan 出生了。 我们马上就知道出了点问题。 他出生后只哭了几秒钟,并在 9 小时大时出现了第一次窒息发作。 他无法哺乳,甚至无法喂奶。 在接下来的 9 个月里,他几乎没有达到每一个里程碑。 他从不哭,即使他湿了或饿了。 当你进入房间时,他很少承认你,然后,在大多数情况下,他似乎对周围的世界视而不见。 在我们 15 个月的随访中,儿科医生将我们转介到儿童医院。 发育儿科医生怀疑脆性 X 综合征并要求进行基因检测。 测试以 Dup15q 的形式返回,而不是 Fragile X。 不幸的是,当时没有太多关于 Dup2q 的信息,所以我们没有过多关注它(医生知道这件事的唯一原因是她的大学室友恰好在研究它)。 我们肯定知道他患有自闭症(尽管他直到 15 岁才被正式诊断出患有自闭症)所以我们开始了整个治疗方案; PT、OT、言语、喂养疗法、骑马、按摩和 Sonrise 计划。 我们把地下室变成了一个治疗室,里面有各种各样的感官玩具、球和游戏。 我们在天花板上安装了一个挂钩来连接不同类型的秋千,并聘请了各种治疗师与 Aidan 一起工作。 几年后,我们意识到我们没有看到任何我们预期的结果,或者在其他患有自闭症的孩子身上看到的结果。 甚至艾丹的“自闭症”似乎也与我们遇到的其他孩子不同。 因此,我们决定研究 Dup15q,看看这是否是影响 Aidan 的驱动因素。 我们找到了一个网站(当时叫 IDEAS),所有关于 Dup15q 的描述都完全符合 Aidan。 碰巧在明尼阿波利斯举行了一个会议,所以我们马上报名了。 除了发呆地四处走动之外,我对那次会议记不起太多了。 试图从研讨会中吸收尽可能多的信息,并与完全理解我们正在经历的父母交谈。 我们对 DupXNUMXq 如何影响每个人的难以置信的多样性感到惊讶。 尽管我们有一个诊断可以帮助解释艾丹的情况,但我们生活在迷雾中。 您对您孩子的所有希望、梦想和愿望几乎会立即消失。 艾丹受到了中度影响,需要不断监测和监督。 我们决定,为了照顾他,我们需要分开我们的日程安排。 我们中的一个人白天工作,另一个人照顾他,然后我们会在晚上换班(直到今天我们仍然有这个时间表)。

在某些方面,我们的生活类似于有典型孩子的家庭。 他们每天和每周都忙于接送孩子参加不同的活动,例如运动、音乐课、舞蹈等。相反,我们去看医生、接受治疗以及任何有助于让 Aidan 参与世界的活动。 我们花了很多时间在湖边(艾丹喜欢看海浪)、打保龄球(他喜欢看球击中球瓶)和在当地赛道上看赛车。 他确实需要 24/7 全天候监控和监督,所以我们在整个房子里都安装了摄像头。 这给了他一种自由的感觉,让我们放松了一点。 Aidan 不会说话,但他使用 iPad 上的应用程序来满足他的需求。 他的沟通能力有限,所以我们不愿意让他和其他护理人员在一起。 正因为如此,我们很少得到喘息的机会。

你对你所爱的人的未来有什么希望? 对于 Dup15q 社区?
我们知道 Aidan 在他的余生中需要持续 24/7 的支持,但我们希望他生活在一个能够接受、支持和鼓励他过上最好的生活的社区中。 我们目前正在与当地家庭合作,帮助使这个社区成为现实。

您对新诊断的 dup15q 家庭有什么建议?
我能给新家庭的最好建议就是享受这段旅程。 诊断后会有一段悲伤的时期,实际上是整个旅程中的几次,所以承认这一点,但继续前进。 尽管 Aidan 面临许多挑战,但他是我见过的最快乐、最快乐的人。 总是在他们所做的每一件事中寻找好的一面。 不要害怕或尴尬地寻求帮助、寻求建议或找人交谈以得到帮助。 您并不孤单,欢迎加入 Dup15q 大家庭!

Aidan -Dup15q Family Story

August 16, 2022

My wife, Adrienne, and I were married in 1992 and decided to wait to have kids. Instead, we focused on education, careers and enjoying the freedom that comes with having no kids. Taking days long hiking/camping trips, going to Las Vegas on a whim or going on a drive with no destination. We had been married for 14 years when we realized that if we wanted to have kids it was time to consider it.

On May 17th 2006 our beautiful boy Aidan was born. We knew right away that something was off. He only cried for a few seconds after being born and had his first choking episode at 4 hours old. He was unable to nurse and even had trouble bottle feeding. Over the next 9 months he failed to reach pretty much every milestone. He never cried, even when he was wet or hungry. He rarely acknowledged you when you entered the room and then, for the most part seemed oblivious to the world around him. At our 9-month follow-up visit the pediatrician referred us to Children’s Hospital. The developmental pediatrician suspected Fragile X syndrome and requested genetic testing. Instead of Fragile X the tests came back as Dup15q. Unfortunately, at that time there wasn’t a lot of information available about Dup15q so we didn’t pay much attention to it (the only reason the doctor knew about it was her old college roommate happened to be doing research on it). We definitely knew he had autism (even though he wouldn’t be officially diagnosed with that until 2 years old) so we began that whole regimen of therapies; PT, OT, Speech, Feeding Therapy, Horse Riding, massage, and the Sonrise program. We turned our basement into a therapy room with all sorts of sensory toys and balls and games. We installed a hook in the ceiling to connect different types of swings and brought in all sorts of therapists to work with Aidan. After several years we realized we weren’t seeing any of the results that we expected, or were seeing in other kids with autism. Even Aidan’s “autism” seemed to be different from the other kids we had met. So, we decided to look into Dup15q and see if this was the driving factor affecting Aidan. We found a website (called IDEAS at the time) and all the descriptions of Dup15q completely fit Aidan. There happened to be a conference in Minneapolis coming up so we signed up right away. I can’t remember much from that conference except walking around in a daze. Trying to soak up as much information from the seminars and talking to parents that completely understood what we were going through. We were amazed at the unbelievable diversity of how Dup15q affected each one. Although we had a diagnosis to help explain what was going on with Aidan, we were living in a fog. All the hopes, dreams and wishes you have for your young child vanish almost instantly. Aidan was moderately affected and needed constant monitoring and supervision. We decided, in order to care for him, we would need to split our schedules. One of us would work during the day while the other cared for him and then we would switch at night (a schedule we still have to this day).

In some ways our lives are similar to families with typical kids. Their days and weeks are filled with shuttling their kids to different activities such as sports, music lessons, dance, etc. We instead go to doctors’ appointments, therapies, and any activity that will help keep Aidan engaged in the world. We spend a lot of time at the lake (Aidan loves watching the waves), bowling (he loves watching the ball hit the pins) and watching race cars at the local track. He does require 24/7 monitoring and supervision, so we put cameras throughout our house. This gives him a sense of freedom and allows us to relax a bit. Aidan is non-verbal, but he uses an app on his iPad to get his wants and needs met. HIs communication skills are limited, so we don’t feel comfortable leaving him with other care workers. Because of this we rarely get any respite.

What is your hope for the future your loved one? For the Dup15q community?
We know Aidan is going to require continuous 24/7 support for the rest of his life but we want him to live in a community that will accept, support and encourage him to live the best life he can. We are currently working with local families to help make this community a reality.

What advice do you have for newly diagnosed dup15q families?
The best advice I can give for new families is to enjoy the journey. There will be a grieving period after the diagnosis,