亚历山大 – Dup15q 家庭故事

2022 年 8 月 16 日

我在 2010 年遇到了我的丈夫丹,当时我们都有一份兼职工作。 这几乎是一见钟情,因为我们在开始约会 5 个月后结婚了。 我们都知道我们马上想要孩子,并立即开始计划我们未来的家庭。 为人父母的道路崎岖不平,不孕不育、死产和挑战。 2013 年 2 月,我们很幸运地有了女儿伊丽莎白,并且知道我们想给她一个兄弟姐妹。 我们怀孕了,想着我们的未来在 2 年内有 2015 个孩子会是什么样子。 2015 年 XNUMX 月,我们失去了儿子 Nikos。 我们被击垮了,但我知道我不能停下来,所以我告诉丹,我们需要马上重新开始尝试。 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月,我们迎来了我们的儿子亚历山大,我们终于感到完整了。 世界正在转一圈,事情终于安定下来。

亚历山大出生后,一切都很幸福。 我有两个很棒的孩子,我很棒的丈夫,我们的生活感觉很完整。 在 2 个月大时,我与我们的儿科医生谈到了我对亚历山大没有达到里程碑的担忧。 我们立即开始测试并在当地儿童医院开始治疗并帮助我成长。 经过一些初步测试和治疗,没有取得足够的进展,所以医生订购了一个微阵列。 当这些结果在亚历山大一岁生日后仅 6 天出来时,我记得感受到了世界的重量。 我的头脑经历了现在的旋风,这意味着什么,我无法应对这种变化。 在接下来的几周、几个月甚至一年中,医生预约、治疗预约、研究和计划都是不间断的。 对我来说最困难的部分是独自一人的感觉,并且不断地向医生解释 Dup7q 是什么。

你对你所爱的人的未来有什么希望? 对于 Dup15q 社区?: 我对亚历山大的最终希望是在适当的支持下独立生活。 每天我都努力让亚历山大与他的姐姐和典型的成长中的同龄人有同样的经历。 体验生活,活得充实。 在大局中,我希望 Dup15q 社区能够得到更多的认可。 该研究和治疗方案将获得帮助子孙后代所需的资金。

您对新诊断的 dup15q 家庭有什么建议? 我对新诊断出患有 Dup15q 孩子的家庭的建议是让自己有时间有很多不同的感受。 旅程是一场马拉松,而不是短跑。 你会经历悲伤、愤怒、怨恨、疲劳、沮丧和自怜的时期,但不要在那里休息。 永远在你的感受中前行,朝着未来前进。 谈论你的失望,也谈论正在发生的伟大事情。 因为如果你只关注坏事,你的世界就会变成这样。 你的孩子会在他们的生活中做伟大的事情。 这可能不是你想象的那样,但通过他们的眼睛看世界是令人难以置信的惊人。 只要继续相信!

Dup15q 无疑改变了我们的生活。 我们已经改变了对未来的计划以及我们决定每天做什么的方式。 每天都会带来新的体验、挑战和斗争。 有时感觉非常压倒性,就像我们无法继续前进一样。 我们在医疗选择、学校教育、治疗和基本健康方面苦苦挣扎。 不仅仅是坏事或挑战,我们在旅途中遇到的了不起的人。 提高社区意识并观看朋友们的团结支持是最令人惊奇的部分。 我们仍然每天都在挣扎,但有支持我们的人,而亚历山大是最好的。

相关文章

Alexander – Dup15q Family Story

August 16, 2022

I met my husband Dan in 2010 at a part time job we both had at the time. It was pretty much love at first sight, as we got married 5 months after we started dating. We both knew we wanted kids right away, and immediately started planning for our future family. The road to parenthood was a rocky one with infertility, stillbirth, and challenges. We were blessed with our daughter Elizabeth in October 2013, and knew we wanted to give her a sibling. We got pregnant and thinking about what our future would look like with 2 kids in under 2 years. Well in January 2015 we lost our son Nikos. We were shattered, but I knew that I couldn’t stop and so I told Dan that we needed to start trying again right away. And in December 2015 we welcomed our son Alexander, and finally we felt complete. That the world was coming full circle and things were finally settling down.

After Alexander was born, things were blissful. I had my 2 wonderful kids, my awesome husband, and our life felt complete. At 6 months old, I spoke to our pediatrician about my concerns of Alexander not meeting milestones. We immediately began testing and started therapy with our local children’s hospital and help me grow. After some initial testing and therapy, there was not enough progress being made so the doctor ordered a micro-array. When those results came in just 7 days after Alexanders first birthday, I remember feeling the weight of the world. My mind went through the whirlwind of what now, what does this mean, and I cannot deal with this change. Over the next weeks, months, and even year was a non-stop time of doctors appointments, therapy appointments, research, and planning. The hardest part for me was the feeling of going alone, and constantly having to explain to doctors what Dup15q is.

What is your hope for the future your loved one? For the Dup15q community?: My ultimate hope for Alexander is to live independently with support in place. Each day I strive to allow Alexander the same experiences as his sister and typically developing peers. To experience life and live to the fullest. In the big picture, I hope that the Dup15q community to become more recognized. That research and treatment options will gain the funding that it needs to help future generations.

What advice do you have for newly diagnosed dup15q families? My advice for a newly diagnosed family of a child with Dup15q, is to allow yourself the time to have lots of different feelings. The journey is a marathon, not a sprint. You will go through times of sadness, anger, resentment, fatigue, frustration, and self-pity, but do not rest there. Always keep moving in your feelings and moving towards the future. Talk about your disappointments, but also talk about the great things happening. Because if you only focus on the bad, that is what your world becomes. Your child will do great things in their life. It may not be how you envisioned, but to see the world through their eyes is something unbelievable amazing. Just keep believing!

Dup15q has definitely changed our lives. We have changed our plans for the future and how we decide what we do each day. Every day brings new experiences, challenges, and struggles. Sometimes it feels very overwhelming, and like we can’t move on. We struggle with medical choices, schooling, therapies, and basic wellbeing. More than the bad or challenging, is the amazing people we have met along the journey. Bringing awareness to the community and watching the rallying support of friends has been the most amazing part. We still struggle every day but having people who support us, and Alexander is the best.

Related Posts

Share Your Family Story!

Share Your Family Story!

Sharing your family story is one of the greatest gifts you can give. Your story is vital to raising awareness, understanding, and compassion, as it helps people feel connected and impacted.  You are an empowered activist changing the future!