莱利-Dup15q 家庭故事

2022 年 7 月 20 日

我和里奇是在我 17 岁的时候相亲认识的。 我们在结婚前约会了 6 年,我们立即发现自己怀上了我们现在 21 岁的儿子贾里德。 我一直都知道我想要至少 2 个孩子,但我们似乎无法实现。 当我们发现在 Jared 12 岁时怀上了 Riley 时,我们感到非常惊讶! 那时,他们认为我处于高龄,所以他们建议进行各种检查,但我们没有安排。 我的怀孕很容易且可预测,莱利于 22 年 2006 月 XNUMX 日通过预定的剖腹产出生。 第二天晚上我们都出院了!

莱利家庭故事 4 1关于前两个月,我没有任何改变生活的故事要说,但我已经注意到了 她的耳朵有点低,她的鼻梁很平/很宽。 我想知道为什么我喂她的时候她没有看着我的眼睛。 一位摄影师想知道为什么他们不能让她对她 6 周的照片微笑。 趴着的时候,她没有转过头来。 我可以看出她的肌肉张力很低。 我记得我对我的家人和朋友说了一些这样的话,他们总是不理我,并告诉我我只是过于敏感并在寻找错误的地方。 (我是一名儿科物理治疗师。)我不再与他们分享这些想法,甚至与我的丈夫。 当我在她 3 个月大的时候检查她时,我告诉医生我认为莱利可能是盲人。 他很震惊。 长话短说,他在办公室里做了一些测试,并借口给辛辛那提儿童医院的眼科打电话。 那天晚上他们打电话给我安排了同一周的约会。 她被诊断出患有内斜视(这解释了为什么我认为她的一只眼睛向内漂移——我停止分享的另一只眼睛),我们发现她有远见。 她最终得到了最可爱的一副眼镜,谢天谢地,她从一开始就没有问题地戴上它! 多年来,内斜视已经被她的眼镜控制了,只有在她真的生病时才能看到。 现在回想起来,我记得感觉肩上的重担被卸下了,因为毫无疑问,她有限的视力是导致所有“小事”开始加起来可能导致发育迟缓的原因。

有了视力诊断和我一直看到的延误,我让 Riley 参加了早期干预,她开始接受 OT、PT 和 莱利·贝克 e1658328320136SLP 和干预专家的协助。 我还联系了我的一位朋友/前同事,她是一名 OT,她提议在 Riley 的家中见到她,“以帮助她赶上”,因为她戴了眼镜,等等。所有这一切都发生在 Riley 的第 3 个月。 在 5 个月大的时候,我的朋友 OT 和她的多重残疾教师丈夫让我坐下来,说他们担心 Riley 表现出异常的神经系统体征,他们建议我们联系神经科医生。 好吧,我没必要这样做,因为莱利在那次谈话后仅两周就第一次癫痫发作,而且她在医院一周后被诊断出患有婴儿痉挛症。 我们被给予 ACTH 和 Keppra 来治疗癫痫发作,我们非常幸运,因为 Riley 对这种组合反应相当快。 而且,由于婴儿痉挛症的诊断,医院自动建议进行基因检测,以确定癫痫发作是否存在潜在的遗传原因。 因此,我们是如何在她 2 个月大的时候发现 idic15 的。 今天,虽然这对某些人来说可能听起来很奇怪,但我很感激莱利有她那样的癫痫发作,因为否则,我认为可能需要数年时间才能得到明确的诊断,而我们将失去所有的时间。 dup6q 组。 我不能说我从 dup 组的人们那里得到的支持对我们来说意味着多少! 没有他们,我永远做不到! 我们通过这个小组结识了最优秀的人,我们参加的会议对莱利旅程的许多领域都发挥了重

Riley -Dup15q Family Story

July 20, 2022

Richie and I met on a blind date when I was 17 years old.  We dated for 6 years before we got married and we immediately found ourselves pregnant with our now 21-year-old son, Jared.   I always knew I wanted at least 2 children but we just couldn’t seem to make it happen.  It came as quite a surprise when we found out that we were pregnant with Riley when Jared was turning 12!  At that time, they considered me to be at advanced maternal age so they recommended all kinds of tests but we didn’t schedule them.  My pregnancy was easy and predictable and Riley was born on December 22, 2006 through a scheduled C-section.  We were both out of the hospital the next night!

Riley Family Story 4 1I don’t have any life-altering stories to say about the first two months but I had already noticed that her ears were a little low set and that her nasal bridge was quite flat/wide.  I wondered why she didn’t look into my eyes when I fed her.  A photographer wondered why they couldn’t get her to smile at her 6-week pictures.  She wasn’t turning her head when she was on her belly.  I could tell that her muscle tone was low.  I remember saying some of these things to my family and friends and they always brushed me off and told me I was just being overly sensitive and looking for something to be wrong.  (I am a Pediatric Physical Therapist by trade.)  I stopped sharing these thoughts with them, even with my husband.  When I had her at her 3 months check-up I told the doctor that I thought Riley might be blind.  He was shocked.  Long story short, he did some kind of test right there in the office and excused himself to call Ophthalmology at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital.  They called me that night to schedule an appointment that very same week.  She was diagnosed with Esotropia (which explained why I thought one of her eyes was drifting inward-another one of those things I stopped sharing) and we found out that she was far-sighted.  She ended up getting the absolute cutest pair of glasses, which thankfully she wore without an issue right from the start!  Over the years, the Esotropia has become controlled by her glasses and it is only visible when she is really sick.   Looking back now, I remember feeling that a weight had been lifted off of my shoulder because surely, her limited vision was what was causing all of the ‘little things’ that were starting to add up to a probable developmental delay.

With the vision diagnosis in hand and the delays that I had been seeing, I enrolled Riley in Early Intervention where she started receiving OT, PT, and riley.baker e1658328320136SLP and assistance from an Intervention Specialist.  I also reached out to a friend/ex-colleague of mine who was an OT and she offered to see Riley at her home ‘to help her catch up’ now that she had her glasses, etc.  All this happened during Riley’s 3rd month.  At 5 months old, my friend the OT, and her husband who was a Multiple Disabilities Teacher, sat me down and said they were concerned that Riley was exhibiting abnormal neurological signs and they recommended we contact a neurologist.  Well, I didn’t have to because Riley had her first seizure just 2 weeks after that conversation and she was diagnosed with Infantile Spasms after a week in the hospital.  We were given ACTH and Keppra to treat the seizures and we were so lucky because Riley responded rather quickly to the combination.  And, because of the Infantile Spasms diagnosis, the hospital automatically recommended genetic testing to determine if there was an underlying genetic cause for the