单基因不足以解释 dup15q,Angelman 特征

2022 年 11 月 22 日

单基因不足以解释 dup15q,Angelman 特征

 

BY 安吉·沃伊斯·阿卡姆  /  频谱新闻 / 18 NOVEMBER 2022

 

根据两项未发表的新研究,多个基因塑造了自闭症相关疾病 dup15q 综合征和 Angelman 综合征的特征。 这项工作于周二在 神经科学 2022 在加州圣迭戈。

安格曼综合征 是由 15q11-13 染色体区域的母体拷贝中的缺失或突变引起的,而 dup15q 综合征则源于它的重复。 尽管这两种情况的特征不同——例如,dup15q 更常导致自闭症——但这两种综合症都与癫痫发作和发育迟缓的可能性增加有关。

长期以来,研究人员一直怀疑该区域的单个基因 UBE3A 会导致 Angelman 综合征,并且它也被认为是 dup15q 综合征的重要靶标。 母体而非父系 15q11-13 区域的过度表达或表达不足会导致这两种情况中的一种或另一种——这让研究人员了解 UBE3A 通过印记在父系拷贝上沉默的想法处于过错。

在 3q15-11 区域内失去 UBE13A 和其他基因表达的 Angelman 综合征患者具有 更严重的特征 比那些只缺乏 UBE3A 的人。 过度表达 UBE3A 的动物模型不会 充分捕捉 dup15q 综合征表型——表明其他基因也塑造了与该病症相关的特征。

但哪些特征源于 UBE3A 的非典型表达,以及哪些其他基因可能涉及,一直不清楚,说 玛娃·埃拉明(Marwa Elamin), 博士后研究员 埃里克莱文法明顿康涅狄格大学医学院的实验室,展示了其中一张海报。

这项新工作证实,UBE3A 表达的变化有助于许多(但不是全部)在携带 dup15q 和 Angelman 综合征突变的神经元中看到的非典型特征。

研究结果对治疗的发展具有重要意义,说 本·菲尔波特,北卡罗来纳大学教堂山分校的细胞生物学和生理学教授,他没有参与这些研究。 “针对其他一些基因也可能提供治疗益处。”

N与具有相同遗传背景但没有额外染色体区域的对照神经元相比,从 dup15q 综合征患者的干细胞中生长出的欧元会激发更多的自发动作电位,研究人员 先前报道. 该团队假设,这种额外的活动可能会导致患有这种疾病的人出现癫痫发作。

研究小组在

Single gene insufficient to account for dup15q, Angelman traits

November 22, 2022

Single gene insufficient to account for dup15q, Angelman traits

 

BY ANGIE VOYLES ASKHAM  /  Spectrum News / 18 NOVEMBER 2022

 

Multiple genes shape the traits of the autism-linked conditions dup15q syndrome and Angelman syndrome, according to two new unpublished studies. The work was presented Tuesday at Neuroscience 2022 in San Diego, California.

Angelman syndrome is caused by deletions or mutations in the maternal copy of the 15q11-13 chromosomal region, whereas dup15q syndrome stems from duplications of it. Although traits differ for the two conditions — dup15q more frequently results in autism, for example — both syndromes are linked to an increased likelihood of seizures and developmental delay.

Researchers have long suspected that a single gene in the region, UBE3A, drives Angelman syndrome, and it has been considered an important target for dup15q syndrome as well. Over- or under-expression of the maternal, but not paternal, 15q11-13 region leads to one or the other of the two conditions — clueing researchers in to the idea that UBE3A, which is silenced on the paternal copy through imprinting, is at fault.

People with Angelman syndrome who lose expression of UBE3A and other genes within the 15q11-13 region have more severe traits than do those who lack only UBE3A. And animal models that overexpress UBE3A do not fully capture the dup15q syndrome phenotype — suggesting that other genes shape the traits associated with that condition as well.

But which traits stem from atypical expression of UBE3A, and which other genes might be involved, has been unclear, says Marwa Elamin, a postdoctoral fellow in Eric Levine’s lab at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine in Farmington, who presented one of the posters.

The new work confirms that changes to UBE3A expression contribute to many, but not all, of the atypical traits seen in neurons carrying dup15q and Angelman syndrome mutations.

The findings have important implications for the development of treatments, says Ben Philpot, professor of cell biology and physiology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, who was not involved in the studies. “Targeting some of the other genes might also provide therapeutic benefit.”

Neurons grown from stem cells of people with dup15q syndrome fire more spontaneous action potentials than do control neurons that have the same genetic background but no extra chromosomal region, the researchers